Skip to main content

UF/IFAS Plant Breeding

UF/IFAS Plant Breeding

Students

Estefania Tavares Flores – Student Spotlight – UF/IFAS CALS Plant Breeding Ph.D. Program

Tell us a little about yourself.  I’m an international student from...

Related Stories

Jesse Murray – Student Spotlight – UF/IFAS CALS Plant Breeding Ph.D. Program

Tell us a little about yourself. I am originally from Kansas and grew up in...

Related Stories

Plant Breeding at the University of Florida Institute of Food and Agricultural Sciences (UF/IFAS) is one of the most active and innovative in the world. It is the first program of its kind in Florida and one of a few in the U.S. In Fall 2021 a new generation of plant breeders from around the world started their Ph.D. degree with us. We are rapidly growing and attracting more oustanding students to our integrated Ph.D. in Plant Breeding degree. Learn about our 2021 and 2022 cohorts below. And, remember, we are actively recruiting competitive students for our Fall 2023 cohort!

2022 Cohort


Makayla B. Rutski

Makayla B. Rutski

Focus Area: SE Pines
Advisor: Dr. Gary Peter 
Emailmakaylarutski@ufl.edu

Rakshya Dhakal_Picture

Rakshya Dhakal

Focus Area: Sweet Corn
Advisor: Dr. Marcio Resende
Emailrakshya.dhakal@ufl.edu

Habib Akinmade

Habib O. Akinmade

Focus Area: Forages
Advisor: Dr. Esteban Rios
Emailakinmade.habib@ufl.edu

Samuel Adewale - Picture

Samuel A. Adewale

Focus Area: Small Grains
Advisor: Dr. Ali Babar
Emailsadewale@ufl.edu

Sisi Chen

Sisi Chen

Focus Area: Ornamentals
Advisor: Dr. Xingbo Wu
Emailsisi.chen@ufl.edu

Jairo A. Arcos Jaramillo - Picture

Jairo A. Arcos

Focus Area: Lettuce
Advisor: Dr. German Sandoya
Emailjarcosjaramillo@ufl.edu

Kaitlyn Vondracek

Kaitlyn Vondracek

Focus Area: Strawberry
Co-Advisors: Drs. Seonghee Lee and Tie Liu
Email: kvondracek@ufl.edu

Anandi Karn

Anandi Karn

Focus Area: Blueberry
Advisor: Dr. Patricio Munoz
Emailanandikarn@ufl.edu

 

2021 Cohort


Manuel Gastelbondo 200px

Manuel Gastelbondo

Focus Area: Tropical species
Advisor: Dr. Alan Chambers 
Emailgastelbondom@ufl.edu 

Samuel Ipinyomi 200px

Samuel O. Ipinyomi

Focus Area: Tomatoes
Advisor: Dr. Samuel Hutton 
Email: ipinyomi.samuel@ufl.edu  

Sudip Kunwar 200px

Sudip Kunwar

Focus Area: Small grains 
Advisor: Dr. Ali Babar
Email: skunwar@ufl.edu

Jesse Murray 200px

Jesse Murray

Focus Area: Lettuce
Advisor: Dr. German Sandoya 
Email: jesse.murray@ufl.edu

Mark Porter 200px

Mark Porter

Focus Area: Strawberry
Advisor: Dr. Seonghee Lee 
Email: markporter@ufl.edu

Pablo Sipowicz 200px

Pablo Sipowicz

Focus Area: Forages
Advisor: Dr. Esteban Rios 
Email: pablosipowicz@ufl.edu

Estefania Tavares 200px

Estefania Tavares F.

Focus Area: Blueberries
Advisor: Dr. Patricio Munoz
Email: es.tavaresflores@ufl.edu

Elissar Alam

Elissar Alam

Focus Area: Strawberries
Advisor: Dr. Vance Whitaker
Email: elissaralam@ufl.edu

 

Useful Links